The Supreme Court’s ruling in the New York State Rifle & Pistol Association v. Bruen case ushered in a new era in the history of gun control. Now more than ever, citizens of the country, especially those living in states that used to have strict gun control laws can apply for and get their concealed carry permits without having to meet any special requirement.
This post reveals all you need to know about applying for and getting your concealed carry in your resident state. The needed requirements and expected date of approval are also revealed below. Let’s dive in.
Table of Contents
What Are The Requirements To Get A Concealed Carry Permit?
The requirements to get a concealed carry license vary from state to state because individual state governments are responsible for issuing and approving concealed carry permit requests. However, there are a few requirements that cut across many states.
1. Age Requirement: 21 Years And Older
Many states in the country agree to a minimum age requirement of 21 years before a legal citizen can be issued a concealed carry permit. A few states like Carlifornia drop the bar to 18 years. So, in such states, you can apply for a CCW license when you are 18 but in most states, the minimum age requirement is 21 years.
2. You Mustn’t Be A Convicted Felon
Some states refer to this as “proof of good character.” Before you can apply for a CCW permit, you must have a clean slate. This means you shouldn’t have any history of felonies like assault and battery or robbery.
3. You Must Have Completed A CCW Training Class
Most states in the country require applicants to submit a proof of completion for a recognized CCW training class. This shows that you are responsible and well trained to carry a concealed weapon legally and without causing any harm to the general public.
4. You Should Have A Proof Of Residence
A proof of residence shows you are a legal resident of the state. For instance, in Ohio, you must have been a resident of the state for at least 45 days before you can be issued a CCW license. States often accept utility bills and bank statements sent to your address as a proof of residence.
Who Can’t Get A Concealed Carry Permit/License?
The 1968 Federal Gun Control Act and the subsequent 1997 Federal Omnibus Consolidated Appropriations Act prevent people in these categories from getting a concealed carry license:
- Fugitives from justice.
- Persons that have been convicted in any court for a crime punishable by more than 1 year jail term.
- Addicts and unlawful users of hard drugs and other controlled substances (including medical marijuana).
- Foreigners living illegally in the US.
- Veterans of the military that were discharged for dishonorable conditions.
- Persons that have renounced their US citizenship.
- Persons convicted in a court for domestic violence.
- Persons under a restraining order.
You should know that persons younger than 18 are also not allowed to own a gun or have a concealed carry permit in all states in the country.
Now that we know who can and can’t have a CCW license, let’s find out how to apply for one.
How To Apply For And Get A Concealed Carry License
Here is a detailed 5-step guide on how to apply for your concealed carry permit in your residency state:
1. Do Your Research
The first step is to do your homework. This involves researching the requirements of your residency state to get a CCW license. The requirements may include the following: the ideal age, proof of residency, background check, training experience, health tests, and fingerprinting. You can check here for the CCW permit requirements of your state.
When you know the requirements of your state, you can decide if you meet those requirements or not. If it helps, you can talk to other gun owners that have gotten their permits so you know where to start and what to do.
2. Learn About Your State’s CCW Permit Approval Process
Aside from your state’s requirements, you should also check for the CCW permit approval process. Generally, there are 3 types of CCW permit approval processes: The Shall-issue states, May-issue states, and Right denied states.
- For Shall-issue states, you’ll be issued a CCW license if you meet all the needed requirements.
- For May-Issue states, your CCW permit application may be rejected or approved even if you meet all the needed requirements. In such states, you are asked to provide a “proper cause” for needing a CCW permit and firearm. If your reason isn’t seen as a proper cause, your application will be denied.
- For Right Denied states, Concealed carry permits are not allowed or recognized. As such, your application will be outrightly denied.
You should know that the Supreme court ruling in the NYSRPA v. Bruen case has reduced the number of May-issue states in the country. Currently, most states in the US are now Shall-issue states.
3. Complete A Concealed Carry Training Program
You should take and complete a concealed carry training program before applying for a CCW permit even if it’s not a requirement in your residency state. The purpose of the training class is to learn more about carrying a concealed firearm including how to handle a gun, avoid a lawsuit, and the 5 rules of firearm safety. You can find a CCW training class through your state’s CCW website.
If you are a member of the US military or you have a current CCW training certificate, you may bypass the training class. However, if your certificate is outdated, you’ll need to take another program.
4. Get A Background Check
The next step is to get a background check from the Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI). Most states require a background check to be sure the applicant isn’t prohibited from being issued a permit. You can get a background check from the BCI either online or offline. The entire process takes less than 30 minutes and costs between $30 and $60 depending on your residency state.
5. Fill Out A CCW Permit Application
When you have all your requirements, you can submit your paperwork and fill out a CCW permit application. You’ll also be required to pay a processing fee during application. The application fee varies from state to state. For instance, in Louisiana state, you are required to pay a $25 processing fee after submitting your CCW permit application.
Ensure to follow all instructions and meet all requirements while filling the form. After submitting your application, you’ll need to wait a few days or longer for the application to be approved.
So, how long does it take for a CCW permit application to be approved? Let’s find out.
How Long Does It Take For A Concealed Carry Application To Be Approved?
Generally, it takes between 7 days and 6 months, or longer to get your concealed carry permit application approved.
The time it takes for your concealed carry license to be approved depends on the number of people applying at the same time as you and your residency state.
How To Carry A Concealed Weapon
Having your concealed carry permit is one thing, but carrying a concealed weapon is an entirely different subject. The purpose of carrying a concealed weapon is to have the gun with you whenever the need for it arises. The firearm is not a toy and not an item to show off. There are rules to follow when carrying a concealed weapon. These rules and all you need to know about carrying a concealed weapon are discussed in an earlier article.
Where Not To Carry A Concealed Weapon? – Even If You Have A CCW Permit/License
Though your CCW license allows you to have a concealed firearm with you in public, several states have restrictions to this rule. These restrictions may vary from state to state but in most states, it’s considered illegal to carry a concealed weapon in any of these places even if you have a CCW permit/license present:
- Federal Government facilities: This includes federal court buildings, post offices, Military facilities, and so on.
- State and local government facilities.
- Schools and educational institutions.
- Aboard ships, boats, and aircrafts.
- Houses or places of worship (Churches and Mosques).
- Buildings and venues for political events including political rallies, campaigns, and parades.
- Places with high security like banks, power plants, and the likes.
You should know that your resident state may have additional restrictions to where you can carry a concealed firearm aside from the ones listed above.
In summary, applying for and getting a concealed carry permit is your right as guaranteed by the second amendment of the US constitution. However, before you can apply for a CCW permit, you need to do some extensive research and meet all the necessary requirements of your residency state before you can be granted a CCW license.
You should also take concealed carry classes and proper firearm training so you know the rights and wrongs of concealed carry. Remember to hold a copy of your ccw license whenever you are carrying a concealed weapon.
For more expert tips on firearm-related topics, check out other posts on this website.